TJC recognizes Tyler ISD seniors eligible for Presidential Honors Scholarships | TJC

TJC recognizes Tyler ISD seniors eligible for Presidential Honors Scholarships

Tyler Junior College and Tyler ISD officials have recognized 106 high school seniors who are eligible to receive the TJC Presidential Honors Scholarship beginning in the Fall 2023 semester.

The scholarship is available for students within the TJC service area who graduate in the top 10 percent of their high school class. It covers two years of tuition and fees at TJC, a value of more than $11,000, plus housing costs of $5,600 to reside in the Presidential Honors living and learning community within the Ornelas Residential Complex on the TJC main campus.
During assemblies on their respective campuses, TJC recognized 57 seniors from Tyler Legacy and 49 from Tyler High, presenting each student with a scholarship offer packet and admissions information.
The TJC Presidential Honors program is designed for the high-achieving student. It is a small and focused academic program within TJC with specialized honors coursework, dedicated honors faculty, individual advising and planning, reserved housing, and special transcript notation and distinction at graduation.
Mitch Andrews, TJC vice president for institutional advancement and executive director of the TJC Foundation, explained a bit of history behind the TJC Presidential Honors program and how it was funded by the late Virginia and Jim Gatewood.
“Over the years, the Gatewoods funded several scholarships at TJC — and when they passed, they left a $19.1 million gift that guaranteed we could provide the TJC Presidential Honors program for future generations of students just like you,” Andrews said. “They invested in you and your future, and I encourage you to take advantage of the gift of education and join us at TJC.”
Dr. Marty Crawford, Tyler ISD superintendent, said, “The opportunity for you to go TJC on a scholarship is something that not a lot of students are offered. I want to make sure that you slow down as seniors and relish being a scholar who can say that you have been offered a full ride to attend TJC.
“If you think you’re going to be here and start your family and your professional life here in Tyler, Texas, having a degree from TJC means a lot. So, wear this honor today for the rest of the year that you are a Tyler High, Tyler ISD and TJC honor student.”
TJC President Dr. Juan E. Mejia said, “We are celebrating each and every one of you and this amazing partnership between Tyler ISD and Tyler Junior College. And we are hoping that in two years, you will proudly be walking Wagstaff Gymnasium to receive a diploma from Tyler Junior College to continue your journey on your path to excellence.”

TJC PHS Tyler High 2022

TJC has recognized 49 Tyler High seniors who are eligible for the TJC Presidential Honors Scholarship.

Tyler High seniors are: Francisco Albarran, Yulisa Araiza, Victor Araiza, Saul Araujo, Iraida Banda, Dayra Banda, Leslie Bernal, James Brigido, Shakavon Brooks, Kyla Crawford, Mya Shakell Crayton, Angela Crispin, Aidan De La Sancha, Jovanka Diaz, Alexandra Flores Salgado, Angela Gaona, Issac Garcia, Ta’Niya Gipson, Natalie Gomez, Jeremiah Gordon, Kylie Hallman, Shakayla Hill, Aaliyah Iglesias, Kamora Jackson, Malik Lewis, Carlos Martinez, Emorie Maxwell, Ariel Mendoza, Rebecca Najera, Pamela Ortega Romero, Carol Ortiz, Saul Palacio Alvarez, Estrella Palacios, Cristy Perez, Desmond Price, Crystal Pulido, Jacqueline Rangel, Francisco Robles, Karina Romero Gaytan, Nevaeh Ross, Tovar Ruiz, Justtice Taylor, Zyria Tilley, Zugeily Torres, Alyana Trujillo, Kristen Williams, Desiney Young, Kimber Young and Edgar Zavala.

TJC PHS Legacy

TJC has recognized 57 Tyler Legacy seniors who are eligible for the TJC Presidential Honors Scholarship.

Tyler Legacy seniors are: Laura Ables, Zaina Albeige, Micah Anderson, Avery Armstrong, McKenzie Boone, Madison Boone, Adrian Bueno, Nicolas Castaneda, Rachel Chin, Christopher Congleton, Camila Contreras, Kendalyn Cook, Mallory Craft, Kyleigh D’Spain, Martin Easterling, Colten Edelman, Isabella Egana, Alexander Greene, Justin Hayes, Sierra Hernandez, Tri Hoang, Brantley Hooper, Elizabeth James, Yusra Javed, Mya Jeane, Riley Jones, Blanca Kellermann-Jimenez, Taylor Kimbro, Amy Knarr, Eliot Lee, Kaitlyn Lewis, Megan Lininger, Natalie Martin, Zoe Mazzare, Dylan McCauley, Claire McCown, Trinity McKenzie, Marina Nance, Vananh Nguyen Huynh, Allison Parker, Namarie Perez, Tyler Priest, Elizabeth Randall, Avery Rivera, Valeria Rodriguez, Rose Rook, Ella Rook, Rushil Sajjan, Ronelle Samson, Lydia Schweizer, Aubrey Sheffield, Hannah Smith, Katherine Strader, Jude Thomas, Isabella Trimble, Varun Verma and Samuel Youngblood.
For more information, go to


TJC news RSS feed