TJC Symphonic Band, Wind Ensemble performances set this week | TJC

TJC Symphonic Band, Wind Ensemble performances set this week

The Tyler Junior College Symphonic Band and Wind Ensemble will hold their spring concerts this week in the Rogers Palmer Performing Arts Center on the TJC main campus.

The Symphonic Band will perform 7:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 12, and the Wind Ensemble, will perform 7:30 p.m. Thursday, April 14. Admission is free, and the public is invited to attend.
The groups are under the direction of Jeremy Strickland, TJC director of bands, and Dr. Eddie Airheart, TJC assistant director of bands and professor of woodwinds.
The Symphonic Band program, “Moments in Time,” will include: “Flourish for Wind Band” by Ralph Vaughan Williams, “Emperata Overture” by Claude T. Smith, “Elegy for a Young American” by Ronald LoPresti, “Second American Folk Rhapsody” by Clare Grundman, “Symphony No. 1: In Memoriam — Dresden, 1945” by Daniel Bukvich, “Gabriel’s Oboe” by Ennio Morricone, and “At a Dixieland Jazz Funeral” by Jared Spears.
Dr. Danny Chapa, TJC tuba and euphonium professor, will be the featured soloist on “Gabriel’s Oboe.” TJC music faculty members Micah Bell, Heather Mensch, Tom McGowan and Chapa, as well as Dr. Sarah Roberts from UT Tyler, will be featured on the Dixieland piece.
Symphonic Band members and their hometowns: LaDarius Adams, Winona; Alford Anderson, Terrell; Madison Beaird, Lindale; Conner Belcher, Lindale; William Bryan, Hawkins; Kameron Bryant, Winona; Bethany Bunch, Atlanta; William Culbertson, Paris; Luke Davidson, Union Grove; Ethan Davis, Whitehouse; Emily Dean, Bullard; Nickolai Dobbins, Whitehouse; Shaylee Durst, Whitehouse; Bonnie Dyess, Canton; Justin Eden, Canton; Autumn Gandy, Whitehouse; Mariana Gatlin, Troup; Isabella Giannantonio, Melissa; Shemar Green, Gilmer; Jonathan Greenwell, Paris; Aiden Hannawald, Wills Point; Samuel Hooker, Jacksonville; Chance Hooks, Brownsboro; Bryce Jackson, Spring; Maddison Jones, Dawson; Emily Loyola, Carlile; José Madrid, Winona; Ray Maldanado, Jacksonville; Kara Martinez, Tyler; Nataliegh McGill, Brownsboro; Brenna McLain, Tyler; Caitlyn Medlin, Frankston; Andru Mendoza, Winona; Yareli Miranda, Marshall; David Nichols II, Whitehouse; Richard Nolen, Frankston; Anthony Orduña, Tyler; Marysol Ortiz, Elkhart; Caroline Phillips, Lindale; Christian Quarles, Flint; Christopher Rahn, Tyler; Kandyce Richardson, Hooks; Kaden Ridgeway, Beckville; Justin Shaw, Azle; Claire Thomas, Mesquite; Outlaw Tidwell, Lindale; and Adam Tudor, Crandall.
The Wind Ensemble program, “Road Trip,” will include: ‘(anti-)Fanfare (for Wind Ensemble Minus Brass)” by Andrew Blair, “The Cowboys” by John Williams, “Children’s March (Over the Hills and Far Away)” by Percy Grainger, “Australian Up-Country Tune” by Percy Grainger, “Variations on ‘America’” by Charles Ives, “Godzilla Eats Las Vegas!” by Eric Whitacre, and “Acadiana” by Frank Ticheli.
Wind Ensemble members and their hometowns: Tania Andrews, Canton; Sidney Arnold, Hideaway; Hannah Boyer, Hideaway; Brody Bradshaw, Bullard; Christian Butler, Bullard; Alison Cheney, Lindale; Aaron Crow, Canton; Ana Cruz, Mineola; Ellery D’Angelo, Mineola; Emily Dean, Bullard; Bonnie Dyess, Canton; Sarah Elliott, Royse City; Cameran Fay, Gladewater; Emily Fulwood, Fate; Alana Galaz, Mineola; James Gentry, Crandall; Roger Gonzalez, Palestine; Tyler Hannan, Tyler; Aiden Hannawald, Wills Point; Sebastian Hernandez, Marshall; Collin Hill, Lindale; Samuel Hooker, Jacksonville; Anna Hudson, Canton; Maya Huffman, Gladewater; Callie Hyde, Canton; Bryce Jackson, Spring; Nicole Jensen, Fort Worth; David Landrum, Canton; Leighann Langston, Bullard; Olivia Lester, The Colony; Linzy Manis, Carrollton; Cameron Miller, Tyler; Sydney Moseley, Frankston; Harvey Nguyen, Whitehouse; Richard Nolen, Frankston; Jillian Nutt, Mesquite; John Park, Lindale; Mariah Parnell, Tyler; Curt Pearson, Tyler; Joshua Plunkett, Gilmer; Rayann Rowland, Quitman; Isaac Sanders, Bullard; Jett Schnackenberg, Mansfield; Justin Shaw, Weatherford; Mitchell Shulka, Fort Worth; Grace Stanley, Bullard; Chris Stewart, Henderson; Lauren Taylor, Pineland; Dominic Theriot, Forney; Adam Tudor, Crandall; Megan Wansley, Whitehouse; Bree Williams, Mineola; and Jada Williams, Mesquite.
For more on the TJC Band program, go to


TJC news RSS feed