Three TJC professors recognized for teaching excellence

Three Tyler Junior College professors have distinguished themselves as endowed teaching chairs for the 2020-2021 academic year.

The TJC Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence program enables professors to nominate and reward their peers who demonstrate excellence as educators.

This year’s recipients are:
• Christine Melius, director/department chair, physical therapist assistant program — The Dorothy Fay and Jack White Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence
• Erica Powell, professor/department chair, learning framework — The Watson W. Wise Foundation Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence
• Brittni Tracy, English professor — The Dorothy Fay and Jack White Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence

“It is an honor to work with such wonderful TJC faculty,” said Dr. Deana Sheppard, TJC provost and vice president for academic and student affairs. “I am very proud to be part of an institution that recognizes and celebrates great teaching. Our faculty truly care about students and their success at TJC.”

Endowed teaching chair recipients receive $2,000 for two years ($4,000 total) and a specifically designed medallion.

Seventeen full-time TJC professors were nominated by their peers to apply for the award. Of those nominees, nine professors underwent the intense application process. Those applicants included: Donna Belt, history professor; Suzanne Cheeseman, professor/coordinator, associate degree nursing, Jacksonville; Jacob L. Davis, theater professor; Melius; Powell; Amanda Richardson, professor/clinical coordinator, dental hygiene; Sandra Sims, associate degree nursing professor, Tyler; Tracy; and Kiera Wade, speech professor.

Since the program’s inception in 1990, TJC has recognized 85 professors with this award.

Tyler Junior College news RSS feed