TJC announces fire, law enforcement graduates | TJC

TJC announces fire, law enforcement graduates

Tyler Junior College officials have announced fall semester graduates from the college’s fire and law enforcement academies.

TJC’s Fire Academy graduated 16 cadets in a ceremony held Nov. 10.

The academy is a 12-week course filled with academic and practical applications to train students for fire service.

The class was led by valedictorian Justin Willoughby and salutatorian Latham Akins.

Fire academy graduates and their hometowns are: Latham Akins, Grand Saline; Peyton Arnold, Forney; Jacob Cheek, Mabank; Jarrod Davis, Desoto; William Dickerson, Whitehouse; Zane Haley, Academy; Ryan Jackson, Hamilton; Shawn Jones, Ben Wheeler; Jeremy Minter, Oakwood; Brad Parish, Tyler; Robert Pena, Tyler; Blaine Scoggins, Tyler; Jeremy Simmons, Canton; Garrett White, Carrollton; and Justin Willoughby, Flint.

Fire academy 2015


For more information on the TJC Fire Academy, go to

The TJC Law Enforcement Academy held its graduation ceremony on Dec. 11, for its 24th Basic Peace Officer Class.

Thirteen graduates successfully completed the 19-week Basic Peace Officer Course as required by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement.

Class valedictorian was Bud Barrett.

Law Enforcement Graduates

Graduates and their law enforcement agencies are: Braylon Barnes, independent; Bud Barrett, Tyler Fire Marshal’s Office; David Scott Denton, Quitman Police Department; Barrett Lewis, Tyler Police Department; Trevor Lowery, Smith County Sheriff’s Office; April Molina, Tyler Police Department; Stacy Montgomery, Smith County Sheriff’s Office; Murry L. Morie, Longview Police Department; Douglas Owen, Brownsboro Police Department; David Russ, Tyler Police Department; Ethan Sala, Tyler Police Department; Tyler Webb, Longview Police Department; and John Wiener, independent.

Law academy 2015


For more on the TJC Law Enforcement Academy, go to


TJC news RSS feed