Three TJC professors recognized for teaching excellence

Three Tyler Junior College professors have distinguished themselves as endowed teaching chairs for 2018.

The TJC Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence program enables professors to nominate and reward their peers who demonstrate excellence as educators.

This year’s recipients are:
• Ashleigh Lewis, learning framework professor, The Dorothy Fay & Jack White Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence
• C. Jeanie Oxler, voice professor and music department chair, The Watson W. Wise Foundation Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence
• Sherry Seaton, surgical technology professor and department chair, The Dorothy Fay & Jack White Endowed Chair for Teaching Excellence

Winners were surprised during their respective classes with a fanfare of applause and balloons, followed by presentations of certificates and checks from TJC Chancellor and CEO Dr. Mike Metke and Dr. Juan Mejia, TJC president for branch locations and district provost.

“I wish to congratulate this year’s recipients, Ashleigh Lewis, Jeanie Oxler and Sherry Seaton, and thank the TJC Faculty Senate and its selection committee for their focus on identifying teaching excellence,” Mejia said. “They are truly among some of the finest educators in the country.”

Endowed teaching chair recipients receive $2,000 for each of two years ($4,000 total), which includes a $1,500 cash stipend and $500 for professional development for each year. The professional development portion may be applied toward a personal professional development plan, including travel, books, conferences and equipment.

Seventeen full-time TJC professors were nominated by their peers to apply for the award. Of those nominees, nine professors underwent the intense application process.

Those nominees were: Michael Flatt, TSI mathematics; Cathy Garcia, associate degree nursing; Frank Kimlicko, music; Lewis; Oxler; Philana Pace, art; Seaton; Loretta Swan, medical office management/health administrative services; and Jennifer Wilson, associate degree nursing.

Since the program’s inception in 1990, 79 professors have been designated as distinguished TJC endowed chairs.

Tyler Junior College news RSS feed