TJC announces Rotary, Watson W. Wise award winners | TJC

TJC announces Rotary, Watson W. Wise award winners

Tyler Junior College has announced the recipients of the college’s annual Rotary Young Citizens and Watson W. Wise Incentive awards. Recipients are chosen by a vote of TJC faculty and staff.

Rotary Young Citizens Award - Arlene Campos and Ben Jordan

The Rotary Young Citizens Award goes to two TJC sophomores each year, based on qualities including: dependability, service, honesty, courtesy, loyalty, leadership, sportsmanship and scholarship.

Arlene Campos is a sophomore biology major from Tyler.

She is active in Sigma Kappa Delta and Phi Theta Kappa honor societies, STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) Club and TRIO. She has volunteered with events for the Salvation Army and Habitat for Humanity, and she has served as a referee for high school and middle school robotics tournaments.

After graduating from TJC, she will attend The University of Texas at San Antonio, where she has been accepted into the biochemistry program. She will pursue a career in scientific research.

Ben Jordan is a sophomore biology major from Tyler.

He is active in the TJC Jazz Band and is a member of Phi Theta Kappa honor society. He has volunteered with the American Red Cross, People Attempting to Help, Access Across Texas and the Tyler Community Band.

After graduating from TJC, he plans to pursue bachelor’s and master’s degrees in biology at The University of Texas at Tyler. His career goal is to be an educator at the high school or college level.
Campos and Jordan will be recognized at the Tyler Rotary Young Citizens Banquet on Thursday, April 21.

Watson W. Wise Incentive Award - Sabrah Shipman

The Watson W. Wise Incentive Award goes to a TJC student who has exhibited the best in the virtues of industry, scholarship and student activity and who plans to attend a senior university or college in the fall.

Sabrah Shipman is a sophomore advertising major from Big Sandy and is in the TJC Honors Program.

Shipman was one of only 200 students nationwide to earn the Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholarship 

She is active in Phi Theta Kappa honor society and Pow Wow TV, TJC’s student-run TV show, which is broadcast biweekly. She has volunteered her time at the East Texas Food Bank.

After TJC graduation in May, she will transfer to The University of Texas at Tyler, where she will pursue a bachelor’s degree in mass communication, with a double minor in graphic design and psychology.

She will be recognized at the TJC Awards of Excellence Luncheon Friday, April 22, and will receive a $665 scholarship for the fall 2016 semester.

TJC news RSS feed