TJC students participate in summer research academy | TJC

TJC students participate in summer research academy

Anna Armstrong, a May graduate of Tyler Junior College and a biology major, is one of several students selected to participate in a summer research academy.

A Whitehouse native, Armstrong is spending the summer conducting biological research at Imperial College in London, England. She was also selected as a 2017 Coca-Cola Gold Academic Team member and scholarship recipient. She will attend the University of Boston in the fall.

Armstrong and five other TJC biology and engineering students are spending their summer conducting research through the UT System’s Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) program. LSAMP is supported by funding from the National Science Foundation, and students are selected based on their qualifications and interest in ongoing research at the university level.

The goal of the program is to increase the quality and quantity of undergraduate and graduate degree recipients in STEM (science, technology, engineering, mathematics) fields through participation in supervised undergraduate research experiences.

In addition to Armstrong, TJC students selected for off-site research include:
• Isai Leguizamo, of Tyler, biology, UT San Antonio
• Christine Anderson, of Flint, civil engineering, UT San Antonio
• Aaron Dees, of Canton, mechanical engineering, at the UT Permian Basin

TJC students conducting research on the UT Tyler campus this summer are:
• Gabriella Morales, of Tyler, civil engineering
• Emily Dunnahoe, of Ben Wheeler, biology

“TJC and UT Tyler have been alliance partners within LSAMP for the past five years,” said Gigi Delk, TJC computer science professor and TJC LSAMP campus director. “During those five years, 17 TJC students have enhanced their education and experience.”

Delk said student research fellows receive a $4,000 stipend for their participation, and they will present their research results along with other participants from across the state during the fall research conference held at UT El Paso. 

Dr. Stephen B. Rainwater, associate professor of computer science, serves as local campus director of the UT Tyler LSAMP program. Dr. Neil Gray, chair and professor of chemistry and biochemistry, and Dr. Neil Ford, professor of biology, also contribute in supporting roles on the local advisory committee for the program.

TJC news RSS feed