Winter and Spring Enrollment is Underway!

Winter Classes

7th President - Dr. Juan E. Mejia

Dr. Juan E. Mejia Was inaugurated as TJC's 7th President on Friday, Oct. 11 in Wagstaff Gymnasium.

Presidential Inauguration

Juan E. MejiaDr. Juan E. Mejia proudly serves the students and communities of East Texas through his role as President of Tyler Junior College. He joined TJC in 2013 and previously served as Vice President for Academic Affairs and Chief Academic Officer at South Texas College.

He is a graduate of Texas State Technical Institute, Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi, and Texas A&M University – Kingsville. He is a graduate of the Leadership Tyler’s Executive Orientation Series and is an honorary member of Phi Theta Kappa’s chapters at South Texas College and at TJC.

He believes in service to students and communities by creating a culture and environment where leadership is valued, learning is celebrated, collaboration is promoted, and personal and professional growth is encouraged and supported.

His values include a commitment to the mission of junior/community colleges, the empowerment of everyone from the college community to achieve their fullest potential, an ethical value system where honor and principles permeate throughout, a vision for courage and legacy, and accountability and transparency that strengthens trust and respect within the College community and with external stakeholders. Dr. Mejia is the father of five sons and he and his wife, Meela, reside in Tyler.

Photo Gallery

TJC Community Ambassadors for the Presidential Inauguration

These community members deserve special thanks for their help bringing awareness to the community for this special occasion. 

Marilyn Abegg-Glass

Barbara Bass

Harold & Rosemary Beaird

Henry Bell

Jane Coker

Wanda Bowie Ealey

Dr. D. M. Edwards

Laura Farmer

Amy Faulconer

Annette Findley

John & Jennifer Gaston

Bill & Beryl George

LaVerne Gollob

Verna Hall

Dr. Clark Hampe & Patricia Hampe

Billie Hartley

Mayor Martin Heines

Billy & Tisa Hibbs

Dr. Sam Houston & Dr. Edna Houston

Dr. John Hudnall & Joyce Hudnall

H. T. & Laura Hyde

Chris Leahy

Jim & Diane Lestor

Michael & Lisa Lujan

Nancy Lunceford

Karina Macedo

Bill Martin

The Honorable Amy McCullough & David McCullough

Terry Mebane

Sheryl Rogers Palmer

Jan Godfrey Payne

Jim & Margaret Perkins

Nancy Rangel

Dr. Cheryl Rogers & Michael Rogers

Smittee Root

Barbara Shtofman

Eleanor Stringer

John & Rebecca Wampler

Neita Fran Ward

Jeff Warr

Patrick Willis

Nancy Wrenn