Tyler Junior College

Six to be inducted into Circle of Honor

Published Monday, 7th February 2011

Six to be inducted into Circle of Honor

Tyler Junior College will recognize a new group of inductees into the TJC Sports Circle of Honor during an awards luncheon on Saturday, Feb. 19, on the TJC Main campus.

The awards ceremony will take place at 11:30 a.m. in Gentry Gym, inside the Ornelas Health & Physical Education Center. Following the ceremony, a reception will be held for inductees and their guests inside Wagstaff Gym.

Inductees will also be introduced to the crowd during half-time of the men’s basketball game against Trinity Valley Community College game that afternoon. The ladies’ game begins at 2 p.m. and the men’s teams play at 4 p.m.

The 2011 inductees are:
• Acker Hanks, basketball, 1946-48;
• Aubrey Schulz, football, 1971-73;
• Bobby Page, football, 1953-54;
• Tommy Sawyer, basketball, 1952-54;
• Burl Plunkett, basketball, 1951-53; and
• Rosie Aldridge Smart, basketball, 1979-81

"We are excited to recognize excellence in athletic competition and life successes with another deserving class of inductees to the Circle of Honor," said TJC director of intercollegiate athletics, Dr. Tim Drain.

The Circle of Honor was established in 1995 to honor former TJC student-athletes, coaches and special contributors to the athletic program who have excelled in athletics and made an impact on the lives of others.

The day has also been proclaimed Alumni Day at Wagstaff Gym. Members of the TJC Alumni Association will be admitted at no charge to the basketball double-header and are invited to a reception in the multi-purpose room at the back of the gym.

For information about the day’s events, call 903-510-2382.

Previous inductees into the Circle of Honor are: Floyd Wagstaff, football and basketball coach and athletic director; Brady P. Gentry, special contributor; James "Babe" Hallmark, football and football coach; Charlie McGinty, football and football coach; Billy Jack Doggett, basketball player and athletic director; Roy Thomas, basketball player and coach; Lee Ann Riley, basketball player and coach; Fred Kniffen, tennis coach; Robert Cox, tennis player and coach; Harry Bostic, Kelly Chapman, Herbert Richardson, O’Neal Weaver, James "Poo" Welch, Bonnie Buchanan Gray, Russell Boone, Janice Mulford, V.C. "Buck" Overall, Jose Palafox, Foster Bullock, Van Samford, Milton Williams, Jesse Marshall, Robert Pack, Johnny Johnston, Jana Crosby Russell, Bryan Miller, Ardie D. Dixon, C.L. Nix, Evelyn Joe Troell Newman, David Rodriguez, Jack Sweeny and Scotti Wood, basketball; Bill "Tiger" Johnson, David Lunceford, Jimmy Murphy, Mack Pogue, Jimmy Dickey, Leon Fuller, Bill Herchman, John Linney, Dan Page, Lawrence Strickland, Dwain Bean, Kenneth Bahnsen, Kenneth Coffey, Jack Murphy, Raymond McGallion, Gene Shannon, Charles Quilter, Royce Townsend, Earl Dotson, Jim Wright, Lloyd L. Pate, Robert "Bob" Price, Richard Farris and Robert Talkington, football; and Dessie M. Samuels and Judy Kniffen Clardy, tennis.

Fred M. Peters


More articles in the news archive.

Get this feed Tyler Junior College news feed | About RSS.