Repeat Fee and Auditing Courses Policies
Repeat Course Fee
The Texas Legislature eliminated funding to colleges and universities of higher education for students enrolled in courses that are attempted three or more times. An attempted course is defined as any course in which a grade is earned on the transcript or courses dropped after the census date (12th class day in fall or spring semesters, 4th class day in summer sessions.)
In order to compensate for this loss of state funding, students attempting a course for the third or more time will be required to pay an additional $75.00 per semester credit hour for the repeated course. This means that a 3 semester hour course will have an additional $225.00 in fees. This additional tuition for repeated courses will be assessed for courses attempted at Tyler Junior College for the third time beginning in Fall 2004.
Other exemptions for repeated hours for attempted courses are as follows:
- Up to 27 hours of remedial and development courses.
- Hours for special topics and seminar courses that may be taken for additional credit toward a degree.
- Hours for courses that involve different or more advanced content each time they are taken, including but not limited to, individual music lessons, Workforce Education Courses, manual special topic courses(when the topics change), theater practicum, music performance, ensembles, certain physical education, kinesiology courses, and studio art.
- Classes taken prior to the Spring 1998.
Taking a course that is being audited is the same as taking a normal class, except that class does not count for credit. Registration is based on available seating. Audit students must pay the same tuition and fees that apply for credit class, and are due in the Cashier's Office at the time of registration. (Students who are residents of the State of Texas and are 65 years of age or older are exempt from the audit fee).
Audit Registration begins at 1 p.m. on the 1st day of administrative changes in Rogers Student Center during the first two days of class. Registration thereafter must be completed in the Registrar’s office.
- Audits will be processed at the time of registration and payment of fees will be required.
- A student auditing a course may not receive credit for the course, nor be eligible for advanced standing examination.
- Participation in class activities is at the discretion of the instructor.
- Audit fees are non-refundable.
- Audited courses may not be dropped.